mineXpert2 is a free software package licensed under the GPLv3+ that helps you to visualize and explore MSⁿ mass spectrometric data.

The software was described in the following publication:

Langella O, Rusconi F. (2021) mineXpert2: Full-Depth Visualization and Exploration of MSn Mass Spectrometry Data. J. Am. Soc. Mass Spectrom., 4 (32) 1138-1141

Main Features

  • Highly detailed user manual in

  • Load any number of mass data files, either fully in memory or in streamed mode (when the files are larger than the available RAM);

  • A typical data exploration session would involve the following steps/actions:

    • Open a mass spectrometry file (the software automatically displays the TIC chromatogram). If the data are from an ion mobility-mass spectrometry (IM-MS) experiment, trigger an integration to a intensity=f(dt,m/z) color map. The TIC chromatogram and the color map can be used as starting points for the exploration of the data.

    • Perform a wide variety of integrations to a mass spectrum, a drift spectrum, a XIC chromatogram of color maps relating m/z with retention time, m/z with drift time or drift time with retention time. Each time an integration is performed, the obtained results are displayed in the corresponding window, either in a new plot widget or in an existing plot widget (depending on the user configuration for that integration). Each new plot (be it a TIC chromatogram, a mass spectrum, a drift spectrum or any kind of color map) can be the starting point of another integration to either the same kind of data or to any other kind of data. Various integrations in sequence allow the user to elaborate data exploration processes that drill each time farther into the depth of the data.

  • Each plot has specific functions associated to it: duplicate a trace plot, perform filtering or Gaussian fit, combine new integration results (either additively or subtractively), export as a (x,y) file, automatic recording of the relevant data of signalled peaks into a file using a predefined syntax.

  • A tabulated view of the whole mass data set in a given file allows one to filter the data according to a number of criteria that can be logically combined to craft hyper-stringent filtering operations(retention time, ion mobility, MS level, precursor ion m/z value, precursor ion charge, for example). Once the initial data set has been reduced to the desired mass spectra subset, the user may select the spectra perform tailored mass spectral data integrations to any of the trace or color map plots mentioned above.

  • Extremely flexible|powerful data views are available to allow sophisticated mass spectral data comparisons either from the same data set or from multiple data sets.

  • The IsoSpec module allows one to perform isotopic cluster calculations and to shape the obtained centroid values into Gaussian shapes that create the whole mass spectrum encompassing the various peaks of the isotopic cluster. The obtained mass spectrum can then be plotted in a plot widget like any other mass spectrum, which allows fine comparisons between experimental data and simulated data.

  • Available as Linux/Win10/macOS packages (see binary packages).

mineXpert2 est un logiciel libre sous license GPLv3+ qui facilite la visualisation et l’exploration de données de spectrometrie de masse MSⁿ.

Le logiciel a fait l’objet de la publication suivante:

Langella O, Rusconi F. (2021) mineXpert2: Full-Depth Visualization and Exploration of MSn Mass Spectrometry Data. J. Am. Soc. Mass Spectrom., 4 (32) 1138-1141

Principales fonctionnalités

  • Manuel de l’utilisateur très détaillé aux formats

  • Charge un nombre arbitraire de fichiers de spectrométrie de masse, soit entièrement en mémoire soit en flux (utile si les données sont plus grandes que la mémoire disponible);

  • Une session d’exploration des données typiques comporterait les étapes suivantes:

    • Ouvrir un fichier de spectrométrie de masse (le logiciel calcule automatique le chromatogramme TIC). Si les données proviennent d’une expérience de spectrométrie de masse à mobilité ionique (IM-MS), déclencher une intégration vers une carte de couleurs intensité=f(dt,m/z). Le chromatogramme TIC et la carte de couleurs peuvent être utilisés comme des points de départ pour l’exploration des données.

    • Pratiquer un grand nombre d’intégrations, vers un spectre de masse, un spectre de dérive, un chromatogramme TIC, des cartes de couleurs reliant m/z avec temps de rétention ou m/z avec temps de dérive ou temps de dérive avec temps de rétention. À chaque fois qu’une intégration est pratiquée, les résultats obtenus sont affichés dans la fenêtre correspondante, soit dans un nouveau widget de graphique soit un un widget existant (selon la configuration pour cette intégration). Chaque nouveau graphe (que ce soit un chromatogramme TIC, un spectre de masse, un spectre de dérive ou encore tout type de carte de couleurs) peut servir de point de départ pour une nouvelle intégration, soit vers des données du même type soir vers des données d’un autre type. Différentes intégrations pratiquées en séquence permettent donc l’élaboration de processus d’exploration des données qui explorent les données à chaque fois plus en profondeur.

  • Chaque graphe possède des fonctionnalités spécifiques qui lui sont associées: duplication de graphe, filtrage, fit gaussien, combinaisons de nouveaux résulats d’intégration (soit additives soit soustractives), export au format (x,y), enregistrement automatique des données d’intérêt signalées par l’utilisateur dans un fichier selon une syntaxe prédéfinie.

  • Une vue tabulée de tout le jeu de données d’un fichier donnée permet de filtrer les données selon des critères qui peuvent être combinés logiquement pour définir des opérations de filtrage hautement stringentes (temps de rétentin, mobilité ionique, niveau MS, valeur m/z de l’ion précurseur, charge de l’ion précurseur, par exemple). Une fois que le jeu de données initial a été réduit à un sous-groupe de spectres de masse, l’utilisateur peut en sélectionner pour effectuer des integrations vers n’importe lequel des graphes mentionnés plus haut.

  • Des vues de données flexibles|puissantes sont disponibles pour permettre des comparaisons de données sophistiquées tant dans le même jeu de données qu’entre de multiples jeux de données.

  • Le module IsoSpec permet d’effectuer des calculs de massif isotopique et former des pics de masse à partir des valeurs de centroide m/z. On modélise ainsi tout le spectre de masse qui comporte le massif isotopique. Ce spectre de masse théorique peut ensuite être affiché dans un widget de graphe au même titre que tous les autres spectres de masse, ce qui permet de comparer des données théoriques avec des données expérimentales.

  • Disponible sous forme de paquets binaires précompilés pour Linux/Win10/macOS (voir paquets binaires).